The Turnkey

Allison Rushby

$16.99 BC
Out of Stock - Order Now (usually dispatches in 7 days)

History and mystery wrapped in a thrilling supernatural plot, The Turnkey is perfect for kids aged 9+. Flossie Birdwhistle is the Turnkey at London's Highgate Cemetery. As Turnkey, Flossie must ensure all the souls in the cemetery stay at rest. This is a difficult job at the best of times for a twelve-year-old ghost, but it is World War II and each night enemy bombers hammer London. Even the dead are unsettled. When Flossie encounters the ghost of a German soldier carrying a mysterious object, she becomes suspicious. What is he up to? Before long, Flossie uncovers a sinister plot that could result in the destruction of not only her cemetery, but also her beloved country. Can Flossie stop him before it is too late? "Nothing can stop Flossie - not even being dead. A wonderfully ghostly and gothic tale." Carole Wilkinson "Allison Rushby cleverly weaves a supernatural plot into a page-turning mystery with a fresh historical perspective and a strong heroine at its centre ... 4/5 stars." Books+Publishing The Turnkey is a ghost story. An adventure story. A mystery. It will appeal to fans of Susan Green, Catherine Jinks, Judith Rossell and Neil Gaiman.

ISBN: 9781925126921
Publication Date: 01-Mar-2017
Publisher: Walker Books Australia Pty, Limited