The Bone Garden

Heather Kassner

$17.99 BC
In Stock

A spooky and adventurous debut illustrated fantasy novel about a girl made of dust and bone and imagination who seeks the truth about the magic that brought her to life.

Featuring illustrations by Matt Saunders

"This magical story--and the brave girl in its pages--will haunt you in the best way." --Natalie Lloyd, New York Times bestselling author of Over the Moon

"Remember, my dear, you do not really and truly exist."

Irr elle fears she's not quite real. Only the finest magical thread tethers her to life--and to Miss Vesper. But for all her efforts to please her cruel creator, the thread is unraveling. Irr elle is forgetful as she gathers bone dust. She is slow returning from the dark passages beneath the cemetery. Worst of all, she is unmindful of her crooked bones.

When Irr elle makes one final, unforgivable mistake by destroying a frightful creature just brought to life, Miss Vesper threatens to imagine her away once and for all. Defying her creator for the very first time, Irr elle flees to the underside of the graveyard and embarks on an adventure to unearth the mysterious magic that breathes bones to life, even if it means she will return to dust and be no more.

With echoes of Neil Gaiman's The Graveyard Book, debut author Heather Kassner's The Bone Garden is a gorgeously written story--illustrated by Matt Saunders--humming with magic, mystery, and dark imaginings. Perfect for fans of Holly Black, Jonathan Auxier, and Katherine Arden.

Praise for The Bone Garden

"A gorgeously creepy tale with a timeless feel. With her vulnerability and courage, Irr elle is a heroine you can't help but love." --Elly Blake, New York Times bestselling author of Nightblood

" Evokes] the dreamy tone and themes of Neil Gaiman's Coraline and The Graveyard Book . . . an impressive new fairy tale that will appeal to fans of Lisa Graff's subtly magical stories." --Booklist

"The pages of this book are filled with imagination incarnate--in the form of a haunting heroine made from dust, bone, and a heart of gold. A deliciously dark, unique tale " --MarcyKate Connolly, author of Shadow Weaver.

ISBN: 9781789091786
Publication Date: 01-Jul-2019
Publisher: Titan Books Limited