The Bone Garden

Heather Kassner

$17.99 Paperback
In Stock

A spooky and adventurous fantasy debut about a girl made of dust and bone and imagination who seeks the truth about the magic that brought her to life.

"This magical story--and the brave girl in its pages--will haunt you in the best way." --Natalie Lloyd,New York Times bestselling author ofOver the Moon

"Remember, my dear, you do not really and truly exist."

Irrelle fears she's not quitereal. Only the finest magical thread tethers her to life--and to Miss Vesper. But for all her efforts to please her cruel creator, the thread is unraveling. Irrelle is forgetful as she gathers bone dust. She is slow returning from the dark passages beneath the cemetery. Worst of all, she is unmindful of her crooked bones.

When Irrelle makes one final, unforgivable mistake by destroying a frightful creature just brought to life, Miss Vesper threatens to imagine her away once and for all. Defying her creator for the very first time, Irrelle flees to the underside of the graveyard and embarks on an adventure to unearth the mysterious magic that breathes bones to life, even if it means she will return to dust and be no more.

With echoes of Neil Gaiman'sThe Graveyard Book, debut author Heather Kassner'sThe Bone Garden is a gorgeously written story humming with magic, mystery, and dark imaginings. Perfect for fans of Holly Black, Jonathan Auxier, and Katherine Arden.

Praise forThe Bone Garden

"A gorgeously creepy tale with a timeless feel. With her vulnerability and courage, Irrelle is a heroine you can't help but love." --Elly Blake,New York Timesbestselling author ofNightblood

"[Evokes] the dreamy tone and themes of Neil Gaiman'sCoraline and The Graveyard Book . . . an impressive new fairy tale that will appeal to fans of Lisa Graff's subtly magical stories." --Booklist

"The pages of this book are filled with imagination incarnate--in the form of a haunting heroine made from dust, bone, and a heart of gold. A deliciously dark, unique tale!" --MarcyKate Connolly, author ofShadow Weaver.

ISBN: 9781789091786
Publication Date: 01-Jul-2019
Publisher: Titan Books Limited