Other Words for Smoke

Sarah Maria Griffin

$19.99 Paperback
Out of Stock - Order Now (usually dispatches in 7 days)

Twins Mae and Rossa's summer away from home becomes life altering when they discover a house full of witches, experience devastating first love, and face a dark power beyond any imagining.

Sarah Maria Griffin's haunting and literary sophomore novel explores the balance between love and fear, weakness and power, and the lengths one will go to claim one's freedom. For fans of Libba Bray's The Diviners and Maggie Stiefvater's All the Crooked Saints.

When the women from the house at the end of the lane went missing, none of the townspeople knew what happened. A tragedy, they called it. Only twins Mae and Rossa know the truth about that fateful summer.

Only they know about the owl in the wall, the uncanny cat, the insidious creatures that devour love and fear. Only they know the trials of loving someone who longs for power, for freedom, for magic. Only they know what brought everything tumbling down around them. And they'll never, ever breathe a word.

With an unusual structure spanning five summers, intriguing characters, and a dark mystery, this uncommon novel will appeal to readers of Rin Chupeco's The Bone Witch and Madeleine Roux's House of Furies.

ISBN: 9781789090086
Publication Date: 01-May-2019
Publisher: Titan Books Limited