Cress Watercress

Gregory Maguire; David Litchfield (Illustrator)

$29.99 Hardback
In Stock

"Did a fox get Papa?" Cress Watercress is a rabbit. Home means a warren on the riverbank with Mama and Papa and baby Kip. Meals at dawn and dusk, and honey-ginger tea to help the baby with his breathing. When Papa doesn't return from a nocturnal honey-gathering expedition, Mama assumes the worst--after all, it's a dangerous world for a rabbit. Though Cress begs to stay--what if Papa comes home and doesn't know where they've gone?-- Mama moves the family to the basement apartment of the Broken Arms, a rundown apartment tree with a menacing owl landlord, a nosy mouse super, a rowdy family of squirrels, and a pair of songbirds who broadcast everybody's business. Could a dead tree full of annoying neighbors--and no Papa--ever be home? With his trademark wit, whimsy, and wisdom, Gregory Maguire--best-selling author of Wicked--tells a tale of growing up and moving on in the tradition of The Wind in the Willows and Stuart Little.

ISBN: 9781536211009
Publication Date: 29-Mar-2022
Publisher: Candlewick Press