Treehouse Book Club: Boot

Friday 09 August 2019
4:00 PM – 5:00 PM
In store at Avid Reader Bookshop
Register until 09 August 2019 4:00 PM

Come and climb into the Treehouse - a book club for 7 to 10-year-old readers. This month we are reading Boot: Small robot, BIG adventure by Shane Hegarty.

Book club members get 10% off their book club titles!

About Boot:

For fans of Wall-E and Toy Story, comes a heart-warming, humourous adventure told through the eyes of a young robot trying to find his way home.

When toy robot, Boot, wakes up at a scrapyard, he has no idea how he got there and why he isn't with his owner, Beth. He only has three glitchy memories, but he knows he was loved, which means something important to humans.

Boot soon realises his emotions make him different to other robots, who just function and don't think. Boot is scared but tries to be brave, which is hard when your screen keeps showing a wobbly, worried face. Luckily Boot meets Noke and Red - other 'advanced' robots who have learned to survive in secret.
With his new friends by his side, Boot is determined to find Beth and the gang set off on a dangerous adventure. Everything Boot thought he knew about the world is changing and, when he finally gets home, things aren't as simple as he remembers . . .

Boot is a story that will take you by surprise and make you think about the world around you.