Pawcasso - Remy Lai

Saturday 15 May 2021
2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
Where the Wild Things Are
Register until 15 May 2021 1:00 PM

Join Megan Daley in-conversation with Remy Lai to celebrate the launch of Remy's graphic novel Pawcasso. Perfect for 8-12 year olds we will have Teacher Librarian, author and book-blogger Megan Daley host a twenty minute interview with Remy followed by a live drawing segment, where Remy will draw audience members and their pets... she may even draw you! Followed by a Q&A, and a book signing! What a hoot!

Pawcasso is a delightful graphic novel about friendship and belonging, starring the world's most adorable dog, perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier's Guts.

Every Saturday, Pawcasso trots into town with a basket, a shopping list and cash in paw to buy groceries for his family. One day, he passes by Jo's house, where she's peering out the window, bored and lonely. When Jo sets out to follow him, a group of kids from school mistake her for Pawcasso's owner and, excited to make new friends, she reluctantly hides the truth. But what starts as a Chihuahua-sized lie quickly grows into a Great Dane-sized problem when Pawcasso gets his own internet fan club ... Trapped in a web of lies, will Jo risk her new friendships by telling the truth?

From the award-winning creator of Pie in the Sky comes a heartwarming and hilarious story about an unexpected friendship between the loneliest girl in class and the coolest canine in town.

'Will steal your heart and melt it into a puddle of warm fuzzies. Dog-lovers and art-fans - this is the book for you!' Oliver Phommavanh, author of Thai-riffic!, Con-nerd and Natural Born Loser

Remy Lai writes and draws stories for kids.
She lives in Brisbane, Australia, where she can often be found exploring the woods near her home with her two dogs, Poop-Roller and Bossy Boots (scroll below to see their profiles).

Megan Daley is passionate about children's literature and sharing it with young and old alike. In daylight hours, Megan is a teacher librarian at St Aidan's Anglican Girls School and was recently awarded the Queensland Teacher Librarian of the Year by the School Library Association of Queensland, as well as the national Dromken Librarians Award, presented by the State Library of Victoria. A former national vice-president of the Children's Book Council of Australia, she is on the Queensland chapter of the board of the Australian Children's Laureate and on the Publications Committee of the National Library of Australia. She also thinks sleep is overrated.